关于我们

佛教数字资源中心

致力于连接佛教文献与世界。

我们的使命

佛教数字资源中心(BDRC)是一家致力于佛教文献的搜寻、保存、记录和传播的非营利性组织。我们向学者、译师、佛教修习者以及一般大众提供前所未有的丰富和全面的佛教文献资源。通过数字技术与学术研究的结合,BDRC努力保护佛教文化瑰宝不遗失于历史的长河,而是代代相传,造福后人。

查看如何

支持BDRC

探索我们的图书馆

由BUDA提供技术支持

BDRC简史

Gene Smith at Home - New Delhi 1982

1997

BDRC Founder E. Gene Smith realizes computer technology can preserve and disseminate texts on an unprecedented scale. He takes early retirement from the Library of Congress to fulfill his lifelong dream of making Tibetan texts widely accessible.{Read E. Gene Smith's biography}(https://www.bdrc.io/people/e-gene-smith/)

TBRC Logo

1999

金·史密斯在麻省剑桥市创立藏传佛教资源中心(TBRC)。TBRC着手将金的个人收藏的藏文文献进行数字化存储,并将扫描的文献图像通过CD碟片共享。

Among Tibetan Texts Gene Smith's book

2001

金·史密斯的著作《遨游于藏文文本之间:喜马拉雅高原的历史与文献》出版发行。

Jeff Wallman BDRC Executive Director Emeritus

2009

Gene Smith appoints Jeff Wallman, TBRC’s Director of Technology, as Executive Director.{Read Jeff Wallman's biography}(https://www.bdrc.io/jeff-wallman/)

Digital Dharma Dafna Yachin’s documentary

2012

Lunchbox传媒公司(Lunchbox Communications)发布导演达芙娜·雅晴(Dafna Yachin)的《数字佛法》。这是一部关于金·史密斯保护藏文文化传承的纪录片。

Text at Fragile Palm Leaves Foundation

2015

TBRC董事会投票决定扩大中心的使命;自此,中心将不仅仅保藏藏文资料,而是将囊括所有佛教传统文献的保存。

BDRC Logo

2016

TBRC正式更名为“佛教数字资源中心”(BDRC),并发起它的第一个主要的数字保存计划:东南亚贝叶文献数字化项目。同时,它的藏文文献项目仍然继续。

2017

BDRC开始开发其下一代数字文献存储平台,佛教数字档案馆(BUDA)。

Jann Ronis with monks

2018

吉安·罗尼斯(Jann Ronis)接替杰夫·沃曼,任执行董事。

Linked Data Presentation by Alexis Rossi (Internet Archive)

今天

BDRC启动高棉文化遗产项目,在柬埔寨搜寻、保存、记录和传播佛教文本;BDRC发布其新平台BUDA;原网站tbrc.org不再使用。

People

Our international team carries out BDRC’s mission with ingenuity and dedication, using its skills to make BDRC the online home for Buddhist literature.

历史

BDRC的前身是1999年由金·史密斯(1936-2010)创立的藏传佛教资源中心(TBRC)。自创立以来,它已经搜寻、数字化、编纂和存档近1700万页的重要佛教文化资料。BDRC致力于将这些文献资源永久保存,以便让世界任何一个地方的人们都可以轻松访问它们。

在金·史密斯的超凡愿景的指引下,BDRC把一些一度濒危的藏文文献的保存状况提升到一个极高的水平。如今,BDRC的馆藏文献已成为藏学研究的重要资源,服务于全球的学者、宗教领袖、译者、藏族学者、出版人以及其他各界人士。

2015年,应董事会以及我们在佛教研究领域的合作伙伴们的要求,藏传佛教资源中心(TBRC)扩大其使命,于2016年正式更名为佛教数字资源中心(BDRC)。除了继续金·史密斯开创的事业,BDRC致力于保存并传播由于社会与环境变迁而濒临遗失的佛教文化宝藏。

BDRC将运用其二十多年所积累的技术和学术资源,来应对这项紧迫的任务。

About Us

Buddhist Digital
Resource Center

Connecting Buddhist literature with the world.

What We Do

The Buddhist Digital Resource Center is a nonprofit organization dedicated to seeking out, preserving, documenting, and disseminating Buddhist literature. We provide scholars, translators, Buddhist practitioners, and the general public with access to an unparalleled collection of Buddhist texts. Joining digital technology with scholarship, BDRC ensures that the cultural treasures of 
the Buddhist literary tradition are secure and accessible for generations to come.

Learn how you can

support BDRC

Explore our library

powered by BUDA

A Brief History of BDRC

Gene Smith at Home - New Delhi 1982

1997

BDRC Founder E. Gene Smith realizes computer technology can preserve and disseminate texts on an unprecedented scale. He takes early retirement from the Library of Congress to fulfill his lifelong dream of making Tibetan texts widely accessible.
{Read E. Gene Smith's biography}(https://www.bdrc.io/people/e-gene-smith/)

TBRC Logo

1999

Gene Smith starts the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) in his home in Cambridge, Massachusetts. TBRC begins digitizing Gene’s personal collection of Tibetan texts, and making the scanned images available on CDs.

Among Tibetan Texts Gene Smith's book

2001

Gene Smith’s book, Among Tibetan Texts, is published.

Jeff Wallman BDRC Executive Director Emeritus

2009

Gene Smith appoints Jeff Wallman, TBRC’s Director of Technology, as Executive Director.
{Read Jeff Wallman's biography}(https://www.bdrc.io/jeff-wallman/)

Digital Dharma Dafna Yachin’s documentary

2012

Lunchbox Communications releases Digital Dharma, Dafna Yachin’s full-length documentary about Gene Smith’s quest to save Tibetan literary heritage.

Text at Fragile Palm Leaves Foundation

2015

The TBRC Board of Directors votes to expand the organization’s mission beyond Tibetan materials to include the preservation of texts from all Buddhist traditions.

BDRC Logo

2016

TBRC officially changes its name to the Buddhist Digital Resource Center (BDRC) and launches its first major digital preservation initiative in Southeast Asia at the Fragile Palm Leaves archive while also continuing its Tibetan literary heritage projects.

2017

BDRC begins developing its next-generation archival platform, the Buddhist Digital Archives (BUDA).

Jann Ronis with monks

2018

Jann Ronis succeeds Jeff Wallman as Executive Director.

Linked Data Presentation by Alexis Rossi (Internet Archive)

Today

BDRC launches the Khmer Manuscript Heritage Project to seek out, document, digitize, and disseminate surviving Buddhist manuscripts from Cambodia. BDRC releases its new archival platform, BUDA, and retires the tbrc.org website.

People

Our international team carries out BDRC’s mission with ingenuity and dedication, using its skills to make BDRC the online home for Buddhist literature.

History

BDRC was founded as the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center in 1999 by E. Gene Smith (1936-2010). Since its founding, BDRC has located, digitized, cataloged, and archived over 17 million pages of culturally significant works of Buddhist literature. BDRC stores the works in its secure archive, built to ensure that the texts remain free and accessible to the public into the indefinite future.

 

Guided by Gene Smith’s unique vision, BDRC has raised the once critically endangered Tibetan literary corpus to a high level of preservation. Today, BDRC’s library is a crucial resource for Tibetan studies, relied on by an international community of academic scholars, religious leaders, translators, Tibetan scholars, publishers, and the interested public.

 

In 2015, at the request of its Board of Directors, partners, and collaborators in the field of Buddhist studies, the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center expanded its mission and, in 2016, officially became the Buddhist Digital Resource Center. In addition to continuing the work started by E. Gene Smith, BDRC is now tasked with preserving and disseminating all Buddhist literary traditions that remain endangered due to precarious social, political, and environmental factors.

 

BDRC applies the technological expertise and scholarly resources it has cultivated for nearly two decades to this most pressing task.